Skip to content

The NNWA journal

Both academies teach in Indian cities, both have gym floors behind them, and a counsellor from each has probably called you already. Their websites do not answer the same questions, so here is what each one states and what you must ask in person.

How to Choose Between K11 and Gold's Gym Fitness Institute

Choose K11 Fitness Academy if you want the fuller published detail: practical sessions, total hours and fees are printed course by course, and each course names an NSQF Level 4 certificate. Choose Gold's Gym Fitness Institute (GGFI) if a batch inside a gym near your home matters most, or if you want its NASM route. GGFI publishes less, so ask it for those details in writing. Neither academy is better for everyone. The routes into personal training in India include others too.

Published
Reading time
10 min
Written by
Neha Mohan SinhaM.Sc Nutrition · PhD Scholar · Command Hospital
Reviewed by
Dr. Induja DixitMSc Dietetics & Nutrition · PhD Nutrition · 21 Years' Experience
Last reviewed
Written byNeha Mohan Sinha, Clinical Nutritionist & Lead MentorM.Sc Nutrition · PhD Scholar · Command Hospital
Reviewed byDr. Induja Dixit, Senior DietitianMSc Dietetics & Nutrition · PhD Nutrition · 21 Years' Experience

Last reviewed on 1 November 2026.

NNWA publishes the name and qualifications of everyone who writes and checks its material. You can see the full teaching team on the faculty page.

Sweeping brass motion arcs rising across a deep forest green field, with the NNWA wordmark in the corner.

Is K11 or Gold's Gym Fitness Institute better for someone starting out?

It depends on what you can get to and what you can verify. Both take people into personal training through classroom teaching with practical work in a gym. K11 prints enough to compare before you visit: three levels of course, each with stated practical sessions. GGFI prints batch locations in more cities, but its pages give less on hours. A beginner who lives far from K11's eight locations and close to a GGFI batch has a real reason to look at GGFI first, then ask the questions below.

K11 and GGFI from their own pages, checked 1 November 2026
What you are checkingK11 Fitness AcademyGold's Gym Fitness Institute
Where taught8 locations: Mumbai, Pune, Delhi, Kochi, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Hyderabad, JaipurBatches listed in Mumbai, Delhi, Noida, Gurgaon, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Pune, Chennai, Kochi and Jaipur; Ahmedabad and Lucknow shown without dates
Online optionTheory live online; practical sessions always offlineA separate online course, with all training over video conference
LengthCPT 3 months; APT 4.5 months; APT-Pro 6 monthsAbout 4 months on its institute page; 3 months on its personal training and online course pages
Total hoursCPT 123; APT 194.5; APT-Pro 214.5 face-to-face hoursA promotional page says 115 hours of lectures; the current course page gives no total
Practical12, 25 or 33 practical sessions by courseNot published as hours or sessions
ExamsTheory, practical viva and an NSQF Level 4 exam by SPEFL-SCA promotional page lists theory 100 marks, practical 100, viva 50, with 50 per cent to pass each
CertificateK11 certificate, NSQF Level 4 (Fitness Trainer) from SPEFL-SC, and Trauma Response from the Australian Lifesaving AcademyGGFI Personal Fitness Trainer certification; its institute page says accredited by ACE; a Skill India option is also listed
Published feeCPT Rs 41,800; APT Rs 68,800; APT-Pro Rs 77,800Offline Rs 46,610 to Rs 55,000 on the course page; Rs 45,000 shown beside Rs 50,000 on city pages; online Rs 38,136 in the price box and Rs 40,000 in the page text
EntrySSC (10th) or equivalentNot stated on the pages opened
LanguageAll courses also in HindiA promotional page lists manuals in English, Hindi and Marathi; teaching language not stated

GGFI's figures differ from page to page because its site holds pages from different years, and one of its promotional pages carries a 2021 copyright line. So treat the older numbers as questions, and ask which fee, duration and exam pattern apply to the batch you would join. K11 has one difference of its own to clear up: its course pages give 5 students per Master Trainer, while its FAQ gives one trainer to eight students. Ask for the figure in your batch.

The certificate you would hold, academy by academy

K11's course pages list three certificates: K11's own, an NSQF Level 4 (Fitness Trainer) certificate from SPEFL-SC, and a Trauma Response certificate covering first aid, CPR and AED from the Australian Lifesaving Academy. Its Diploma in Personal Training, at Rs 86,600, adds Rs 17,800 for an item K11 labels international, so read that page before paying for it. If NSQF levels are new to you, what Level 4 means explains the scale, and you can ask K11 for a sample of each document.

GGFI's city page names the GGFI Personal Fitness Trainer certification, earned after completing the curriculum and passing its exam. Its institute page says the courses are accredited by ACE, and its course list shows a separate offline batch with what it calls Skill India certification. Promotional pages mention 5 certifications without listing them on the page. So ask for the list by name, then check any ACE link on ACE's own site, as you would when weighing K11 against ACE directly.

How many practical hours does each academy publish?

K11 publishes a count and GGFI does not. K11's Certified Personal Trainer page gives 12 practical sessions of 2.5 hours, or 30 hours, and its top course lists 33 sessions. GGFI's pages say practical knowledge at the gym and hands-on experience, and its city page mentions internships and practical assignments in Gold's Gym facilities, with no number attached. That does not tell you how much it offers, only that you cannot find out from the page. Ask for practical hours per student, excluding demonstrations you only watch.

The second question is where those hours happen. K11 teaches in its own academies and Exercise Labs, which are set up for training classes. GGFI's listing places batches at named gyms, some at Cult Gym addresses, so you may be learning on a working floor among members. Each has an upside: a dedicated lab gives you a free run at the equipment, and a working floor shows you real members and real crowding. Decide which you want, and see it during the visit.

How do you compare the two fees on equal terms?

Divide each fee by the practical hours it buys, then add what sits outside it. A course fee is only comparable once you know what it buys, a point the guide to gym instructor course fees in India also makes for shorter courses. Do that sum for GGFI once it gives you its number. K11's CPT works out to about Rs 1,393 per practical hour, including everything else in the fee. That is a rough tool, not a verdict, but it stops a lower sticker price from winning when it buys fewer hours on the floor.

Then check what sits outside the figure. K11 describes its CPT fee as all-inclusive, with the Rs 1,600 Trauma Response session in the total, and allows one free re-attempt at its exams. GGFI's institute page lists CPR and AED as a separate course, so ask whether it is included in yours, and whether the displayed price includes tax. Ask about re-exam fees at both academies. Use the same list you would use for what a course fee should include when comparing any two fee quotes.

Should you take GGFI's NASM route instead of its own certificate?

Take it only if the gyms you want to join ask for NASM by name. GGFI's NASM page lists online, offline and hybrid batches over 3 months, at a displayed range of Rs 42,373 to Rs 50,847, and describes an in-person workshop on the hybrid version. It does not state whether the NASM exam fee is inside that range, so ask before comparing it with anything. K11's course pages do not list NASM. The fuller comparison sits in K11 against NASM, including the exam's own requirements.

Run the same campus visit at both academies

  1. Book the visit during a practical class

    Ask to watch a real session rather than tour an empty room. Count the trainees, the trainers and how long each trainee actually coaches someone.

  2. Get the hours in writing

    Ask for theory hours, practical hours per student, batch dates and total payable including tax and exam fees, on one page or in one email.

  3. See every certificate by name

    Ask for a sample of each certificate and who issues it. Test the route on K11's Student Validation page or GGFI's Verify Your Certificate page.

  4. Meet the person who would teach you

    Ask how many clients they trained this year and how they correct a rounding back. A clear, physical answer tells you more than a brochure.

  5. Ask about the awkward cases

    Find out what happens if you miss classes, fail an exam, move city or want a refund. K11's FAQ covers batch transfers and re-attempts; ask GGFI for its rules.

  6. Score both the same evening

    Mark each academy on floor time, travel, total cost and certificate while the visit is fresh, then choose the one you could attend without fail.

Timing belongs in that score. K11's Advanced Personal Trainer takes 4.5 months on weekdays or 9 months on Sundays, and GGFI lists a weekday or weekend batch by location, with its own timings. If you work shifts, look at the slot rather than the course name, because a practical class you keep missing teaches you nothing. Ask each academy to show you the actual timing for your batch and what happens to your fee if your shift changes halfway through.

NNWA under the same questions

NNWA is not part of this comparison, but it should answer the same questions. In Kolkata, NNWA runs Personal Training and Sports Nutrition on a gym floor, open to committed beginners with CPR and AED included, and that course ends in NNWA's own certificate only. Its online Advanced Diploma in Personal Training with Sports Nutrition has live classes in English and Hindi, is awarded with Medhavi Skills University, Sikkim, and is meant for people who already instruct or train.

Its limits are plain. Anyone outside Kolkata has no in-person NNWA option for coaching practice, and the online and Kolkata courses differ mainly for that reason. NNWA teaches in person in one city, against the many listed by each academy here. None of its courses is a degree, and none gives RD eligibility, a hospital dietitian post or the right to treat disease. If you want a classroom in Delhi or Bengaluru, K11 or GGFI fits and NNWA does not.

K11 suits detail-checkers, GGFI suits people who need a nearby batch

K11 suits someone who wants to know the session count and certificate list before they visit, who wants Hindi teaching confirmed in writing, or who lives far enough away to need online theory and a planned trip for practical sessions. GGFI suits someone with a batch close to home or work, someone who wants to learn inside a working gym, and someone whose target gyms ask for NASM. Either way, you are choosing a timetable you must keep for months, so travel counts as much as content.

People who should look elsewhere

Look elsewhere if you cannot attend any classroom regularly: read how to choose between online and classroom courses and test the online option's practical part first. Look elsewhere if you want to plan diets for clients with medical conditions, because only doctors and qualified dietitians do that and a trainer refers those clients on. And if nutrition is the main attraction, compare sports nutrition and personal training first before paying for a course built around lifting.

Your next step, by situation

If both academies are within reach, book both visits in the same week and use the same six steps at each. If only one is within reach, visit that one with the same questions, and walk away if it will not put the practical hours in writing. If neither is near you, look at K11's online theory plus a planned trip, or at an online route with floor practice arranged at a local gym. In each case, your travel plan matters more than the brochure.

Do not pay yet if a counsellor is pressing you with a discount that ends today, or if you have not yet seen a practical class. Waiting one batch costs little compared with a course you cannot finish. If you are also considering NNWA, NNWA's admissions page is the place to ask about format and entry, and the course cards on this page show current details. If you already hold a first certificate, the diploma is the part of this page written for you.

Sources and further reading

K11 Fitness Academy. Certified Personal Trainer. Gives the CPT sessions, 2.5-hour practical length, ratio, fee and what the fee covers.

K11 Fitness Academy. Advanced Personal Trainer. Gives the weekday and Sunday durations, sessions, certificates and fee.

K11 Fitness Academy. Advanced Personal Trainer Pro. Gives the six-month duration, sessions, hours, certificates and total fee.

K11 Fitness Academy. Diploma in Personal Training. Itemises the diploma's total fee and the certificates it lists.

K11 Fitness Academy. FAQs. States the entry rule, Hindi teaching, re-attempt rule, job guarantee position and the 1:8 ratio.

K11 Fitness Academy. Course Schedule. Says practical sessions are offline and lists the eight K11 locations.

K11 Fitness Academy. Student Placement Assistance Cell. Describes the placement assistance and gives K11's own placement figure.

K11 Fitness Academy. Student Validation. K11's page for checking a certificate.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. GGFI Advanced Personal Training Offline Course. Lists offline batch locations and the displayed price range.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. GGFI Advanced Personal Training Online Course. States video conference teaching, the 3-month duration and the online price shown.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. About GGFI. Says the advanced course takes around 4 months, states ACE accreditation and lists a separate CPR and AED course.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. Personal Trainer Certification in Mumbai. Names the GGFI Personal Fitness Trainer certification and gives the city page's fee and duration.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. GGFI Offline courses. An older promotional page giving lecture hours, exam marks and manual languages.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. GGFI Mumbai promotional page. A promotional page listing 5 certifications, 115 lecture hours and job guarantee wording.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. Personal Training Program. Describes the institute's certificate courses and their 3-month length.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. Courses Offered. Lists the institute's courses, including NASM and a batch with Skill India certification.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. NASM International Certification Online and Offline Course. Lists the NASM batch formats, 3-month duration and displayed price range.

Gold's Gym Fitness Institute. Verify Your Certificate. GGFI's page for checking a certificate number.

Sources and further reading

02

Walk into either academy with the right questions

You will be able to compare the two on hours, certificate and total fee rather than on a counsellor's pitch. You will also know what to look for during a practical class.

  • 01

    Separate each academy's own certificate from any outside body named beside it

  • 02

    Compare fees per practical hour instead of by sticker price

  • 03

    Observe a practical class and count how many trainees share one trainer

  • 04

    Check a sample certificate through each academy's verification page

  • 05

    Get placement terms in writing before you pay

Already coaching? Look at what comes after a first certificate

NNWA's Advanced Diploma is an online course on programme design, assessment and fuelling, written for people already working as trainers. It is not a first course for a complete beginner.

Enquire on WhatsAppOnline now · we reply 24x7Register
Online now · we reply 24x7