Last reviewed on 1 November 2026.
NNWA publishes the name and qualifications of everyone who writes and checks its material. You can see the full teaching team on the faculty page.

What goes into the total you should compare?
Everything you will pay from today until you hold the certificate: tuition, tax, registration, exam fees, project evaluation, books and printing. IGNOU's Diploma in Nutrition and Health Education shows why this matters. Its programme page says Rs 4,000 and notes that exam fees are extra. Its July 2026 prospectus adds Rs 300 registration, Rs 400 University Development fee, Rs 200 for each of three theory papers and Rs 500 for evaluating the project. That makes Rs 5,800 if you pass everything first time, which is 45 per cent above the first figure you saw.
Tax wording differs too, and you cannot compare until it is settled. INFS's course pages say the fee includes applicable taxes. GIHS's page marks its fees as subject to taxes and exchange rates, so ask what Rs 22,999 becomes at checkout. The NFNA pages read for this article did not say either way. A simple example: any Rs 20,000 fee with 18 per cent added becomes Rs 23,600, a difference larger than many of the discounts on offer. Always write down the figure after tax, using the rate the provider itself tells you.
Use the price you would really pay, not the one that looks best. NFNA's home page shows Rs 70,000 beside a struck-through Rs 95,000. Medvarsity's page shows Rs 17,745 for its Certificate in Basic Nutrition and Rs 16,502 with a code at checkout. Both are ordinary retail practice. Note the date you saw the offer, and ask whether it holds on the day you pay. Telling a scholarship from a course discount goes further into that.
Why divide by live hours rather than total hours?
Because an hour of your own reading and an hour with a teacher are different things, and provider pages often mix them. IGNOU's rule shows the problem clearly. One credit equals 30 hours of learner study time, so the diploma's 32 credits come to 960 study hours, about Rs 6 an hour on the Rs 5,800 total. That is a fair measure of how much the diploma asks of you. It is not a measure of teaching, and dividing a private course's fee by its own study hours would make that course look cheap as well.
So keep three kinds of hour apart: live with a teacher, recorded, and your own study. Live is the one a provider pays for each time, and it is where your questions get answered. If you learn well from recordings and books, live hours matter less to you and the fee alone may be enough to compare. The method below assumes you want teaching, which is the usual reason to pay a private provider.
The worked method, step by step
Cost per live hour in five steps
Fix the level
Choose courses at the same level and for the same goal. A 3-month certificate set against a 1-year diploma tells you nothing.
Write the full total
Add tax, registration, exams, project or practical charges, printed material and the certificate. Use the price you would pay today.
Get the live hours in writing
Ask for live teaching hours only, with assignments and recordings counted separately. A page that says 100+ hours may not mean this.
Divide
Total payable divided by live hours gives the cost of each hour with a teacher. If no number comes back, the sum cannot be done, and that is an answer too.
Read the result beside the quality checks
Note who awards the certificate, how many assignments a person marks and how long access lasts. The hourly figure opens the comparison; it does not end it.
Published figures, worked through
The table runs the method on figures that providers print, as read on their own pages on 1 November 2026. Fees change, so check again before paying. It is not a ranking. It shows how often the sum can and cannot be finished from a public page.
| Course | Total you can see | Hours the page gives | Cost per stated hour |
|---|---|---|---|
| NFNA Diploma in Applied Nutrition, Food Science and Dietetics | Rs 70,000 on the home page; tax not stated | 120+ hours of live classes and assignments on the course page; 100+ hours on the home page | Rs 583 to Rs 700 |
| NFNA Certification in Applied Nutrition | Rs 44,000 on the home page; tax not stated | 40+ hours of live classes on the course page; 50+ hours on the home page | Rs 880 to Rs 1,100 |
| IGNOU Diploma in Nutrition and Health Education | About Rs 5,800, first attempts only | 960 study hours by the credit rule; no live teaching figure | About Rs 6 per study hour; no live figure |
| INFS Diploma in Nutrition, Exercise and Preventive Health | Rs 61,999, taxes included; re-test Rs 350 | Self-paced, typically 24 to 48 weeks; no live hour count found | Cannot be worked out from the page |
| GIHS Certificate | Rs 22,999, subject to taxes | 3 months, self-paced; no live hour count | Cannot be worked out from the page |
| Medvarsity Certificate in Basic Nutrition | Rs 17,745, or Rs 16,502 with a code | 3 months, by videos and reading material; no live hour count | Cannot be worked out from the page |
| NNWA Diploma in Nutrition, Dietetics and Public Health | The course card shows the live fee | 6 months of live classes; a 600-hour qualification; no live hour count on the page | Ask NNWA in writing |
Read NFNA's row with care. Its home page and course pages give different hour figures, each with a plus sign, and the diploma's figure includes assignments, so its live cost per hour could sit on either side of that range. Ask NFNA which number applies. It deserves credit for printing hours at all: the other private providers here publish weeks, modules or credits, and that may still come with plenty of live teaching. A blank cell means only that the page does not say.
A lower hourly figure does not make a course better. A cheap hour shared with several hundred people on a call is a different purchase from a dearer hour in a small batch where a teacher knows your name. Treat the sum as a way to ask better questions, and as the fairest way to set unlike prices side by side. Named comparisons such as NNWA and NFNA set side by side take this further on teaching and awards.
Charges that change the sum after you enrol
Some costs arrive only if something happens. INFS lists a Rs 350 re-test fee, and says all assessments must be cleared within 3 years of enrolling. IGNOU charges exam fees for each sitting, so a failed paper costs Rs 200 more, and its prospectus says the fee is not refunded if you miss the exam. NFNA's Certification gives a soft copy of study material, with hard copies ordered separately. Add a line for one retake when you compare, because a course with cheap retakes and one with expensive retakes are not the same price. Which hidden costs are real sorts the rest.
Refund terms belong in the sum too, since they decide what you lose if plans change. INFS's course pages call the fee non-refundable and non-transferable. NFNA's refund policy says it does not offer refunds after payment, and describes how to cancel. Access length has a price as well: NFNA's course pages give one year of recordings, and INFS gives lifetime access to content. If you may need to pause, longer access is worth paying for. Run any deposit through the refund policy checklist first, and work out instalments with EMI against paying in full.
Which is the cheapest certified nutrition course in India?
Among the figures checked here, public routes cost least. SWAYAM says its courses are free to learners, with a certificate needing a proctored exam at a fee; its NPTEL page gives Rs 1,000 per course. IGNOU's Certificate in Food and Nutrition lists Rs 2,600, or about Rs 3,900 with the same prospectus charges and exams on its three theory papers, and it asks for no formal qualification. These are real options, not consolation prizes, and neither depends on a private provider's offer. Their price reflects how they teach, so see SWAYAM and IGNOU compared.
NNWA under the same sum
NNWA's fee is not printed here because it changes; the course card shows it live, and the fees and EMI page says the fee you are quoted covers classes, learning materials and certificates. The Diploma course page describes six months of live classes in English and Hindi, with recordings kept. The Diploma is a 600-hour qualification at NCrF and NSQF Level 4, awarded with Medhavi Skills University, Sikkim. Note that 600 hours describes the size of the qualification. It is not a count of live classes.
That leaves the same gap as most of the table: the page read for this article prints no figure for live teaching hours, so the sum cannot be finished from it. Hold NNWA to the same standard and ask its counsellors for the number by email. Its limits also belong in any value judgement. It offers no degree, no Registered Dietitian eligibility, no hospital dietitian post and no right to treat disease. About seventy short courses carry NNWA's own certificate only, outside the university award.
The buyers this test suits
The hourly sum suits anyone choosing between private online courses at one level, where the pages all promise live classes and the fees sit in the same band. It suits working adults who are paying for access to a teacher because they know self-study has failed them before. It also suits parents and sponsors, who want one number they can explain. And it works well when a counsellor is pressing you to decide today, because a request for the live hours in writing takes the heat out of the call.
Reasons to look elsewhere than a per-hour sum
Look elsewhere if your goal fixes the route. Hospital dietetics and the Registered Dietitian credential run through degrees, so no hourly figure makes a certificate a substitute; start with the MSc and PG diploma comparison. Look elsewhere if you want to study alone, because then the total fee, the awarding body and the exam are the things to compare. And if you are weighing a campus course against an online one, internships and laboratories are part of what you pay for, and an hourly sum leaves them out.
What should you do with the numbers?
If two courses at the same level come back with clear figures, and one costs less per live hour with the same kind of award, it has earned the first look. Attend a sample class before paying. If a provider will not give you the hours after two polite requests, drop it from the sum and decide whether you still want it for other reasons. If your first choice costs more per hour but offers a small batch or an award you can check independently, you may reasonably pay the difference.
If you are uneasy, do not buy yet. Take a free SWAYAM course for a month and see whether the subject holds your interest, because a course abandoned halfway has the worst cost per hour of all. If money is the limit, read the side-by-side test for academies and start with the lowest level that serves your goal. Once you are ready to pay anywhere, get the total in writing first. NNWA's admissions page sets out its own steps, and the same questions apply there.
Sources and further reading
Indira Gandhi National Open University. Diploma in Nutrition and Health Education (DNHE). States the Rs 4,000 programme fee, the 12 to 36 month duration and that exam fees are not included, read on 1 November 2026.
Indira Gandhi National Open University. Certificate in Food and Nutrition (CFN). States the Rs 2,600 programme fee, the duration and the three theory courses, read on 1 November 2026.
Indira Gandhi National Open University. Common Prospectus, July 2026. Gives the registration and development fees, Rs 200 per theory paper, the project evaluation fee and the 30-hour credit rule.
NFNA. Home page course cards. Shows the current and struck-through prices and the hour figures on the course cards, read on 1 November 2026.
NFNA. Diploma in Applied Nutrition, Food Science and Dietetics. States the 6-month length, the live hour figure including assignments and the one-year access to recordings, read on 1 November 2026.
NFNA. Certification in Applied Nutrition. States the 3-month length, the live hour figure and that hard copy material is ordered separately, read on 1 November 2026.
NFNA. Refund Policy. Sets out the provider's position on refunds and how a cancellation is requested, read on 1 November 2026.
INFS. Diploma in Nutrition, Exercise and Preventive Health. States the fee, tax position, self-paced format, typical length, three-year limit and Rs 350 re-test fee, read on 1 November 2026.
GIHS. Online Courses for Nutrition and Dietetics. Lists the self-paced mode, the certificate's 3-month length, its fee and the note that fees are subject to taxes, read on 1 November 2026.
Medvarsity. Certificate in Basic Nutrition. Shows the listed fee and the checkout code price, the 3-month length and delivery by videos and reading material, read on 1 November 2026.
SWAYAM. About SWAYAM. States that courses are free to learners and that a certificate needs a proctored exam at a fee.
SWAYAM. NPTEL national coordinator page. States that enrolment and learning involve no cost and that the optional proctored certification exam is Rs 1,000 per course.
Sources and further reading
- Telling a scholarship from a course discount
- NNWA and NFNA set side by side
- Which hidden costs are real
- the refund policy checklist
- EMI against paying in full
- SWAYAM and IGNOU compared
- fees and EMI page
- Diploma course page
- the MSc and PG diploma comparison
- side-by-side test for academies
- admissions page
- Diploma in Nutrition and Health Education (DNHE)
- Certificate in Food and Nutrition (CFN)
- Common Prospectus, July 2026
- Home page course cards
- Diploma in Applied Nutrition, Food Science and Dietetics
- Certification in Applied Nutrition
- Refund Policy
- Diploma in Nutrition, Exercise and Preventive Health
- Online Courses for Nutrition and Dietetics
- Certificate in Basic Nutrition
- About SWAYAM
- NPTEL national coordinator page