Last reviewed on 2 November 2026.
NNWA publishes the name and qualifications of everyone who writes and checks its material. You can see the full teaching team on the faculty page.

This page covers the registration paperwork only. The wider order of work, from scope to first clients, belongs to the guide to building a nutrition practice in India. The forms are the same whatever your background, so a coach with a personal trainer certification who adds paid nutrition coaching for healthy clients follows the same route. What you may advise on is a separate question from what you register, and what a nutrition certificate lets you do answers that.
Which legal form suits a sole nutrition consultant?
A sole proprietorship suits almost every consultant working alone at the start, because nothing has to be incorporated. A One Person Company is the option for one owner who wants a separate company and accepts yearly company filings. A Limited Liability Partnership does not fit one person, because the Ministry of Corporate Affairs' incorporation kit asks for at least two designated partners, one of them resident in India. The table sets out what each form needs and what the official pages publish on cost.
| Legal form | Who can use it | Published government cost | When it suits a sole consultant |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sole proprietorship | One individual trading under their own PAN, with no incorporation form | No incorporation fee, because nothing is incorporated. Udyam is free | Starting out, working alone, income mainly from individual clients |
| One Person Company (OPC) | One Indian citizen as member, with one nominee. A person can be a member of only one OPC | Zero filing fee at authorised capital up to Rs 15 lakh, plus state stamp duty, Rs 66 for PAN and Rs 65 for TAN. Digital signature and professional fees are not published | One owner who wants a separate company for corporate contracts, staff or outside money |
| Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) | At least two designated partners, at least one resident in India | Rs 500 at contribution up to Rs 1 lakh and Rs 2,000 above that up to Rs 5 lakh, per the FiLLiP kit. Confirm on the ministry's Enquire Fees page | Not for one person. Suits two practitioners sharing a practice |
Two details on the company route are worth knowing. The rule that once pushed an OPC to convert at Rs 50 lakh of share capital or Rs 2 crore of average turnover has gone, and the ministry now says an OPC may continue past those figures. The SPICe+ form also bundles PAN, TAN, GSTIN, EPFO, ESIC and a bank account request, as applicable. That saves forms at the start, not work each year, because an OPC still files company returns, including the abridged annual return MGT-7A.
An LLP carries a similar yearly load. The ministry's kits ask for Form 11 within 60 days of the close of the financial year and Form 8 within 30 days of 30 September, at Rs 50 each at the lowest contribution slab, with additional fees that rise as multiples of the normal fee when a filing is late. Form 8 needs an auditor's certificate once turnover passes Rs 40 lakh or a partner's contribution obligation passes Rs 25 lakh.
Do you have to register a sole proprietorship anywhere?
Not as a legal form: a sole proprietorship is you, trading under your own PAN, and the ministry's incorporation forms are written for companies and LLPs. What you do collect are the papers around it, because a bank, a corporate client or a municipal office may ask for proof that the business exists. A trading name needs no ministry filing either, though the name on your invoices, bank account and Udyam record should match. The catch is that the business has no separate legal existence, so its debts and disputes are personally yours. Ask how far that matters, and read what indemnity cover does for a nutritionist.
Is Udyam registration worth doing for a nutrition consultant?
Yes for most, because it is free, starts from an Aadhaar number and gives you a certificate that banks accept as proof of business. The Ministry of MSME's portal says the process is totally free, paperless and based on self-declaration, with no documents to upload, and that the number is permanent with no renewal. For a proprietorship the Aadhaar must be the proprietor's own. You need a PAN too, and a GSTIN only where GST applies to you. A solo consultant falls well inside micro, which since 1 April 2025 means investment up to Rs 2.5 crore and turnover up to Rs 10 crore.
Expect it to do less than sellers claim. Udyam records an enterprise and its size. It says nothing about your qualification or what you may advise on, and it should not appear in your marketing as if it did. One enterprise files only one registration, with further activities added to it, so moving from consultations into recorded courses later does not need a second number. Nothing on the portal makes it a condition of trading: its use is as evidence.
When does a nutrition consultant have to register for GST?
You must register once your aggregate turnover in a financial year exceeds Rs 20 lakh, or Rs 10 lakh where you supply from a special category state, under section 22 of the CGST Act as CBIC published it on 1 November 2026. CBIC's registration flyer names Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura for the lower figure on services. Turnover is counted across India, not state by state. CBIC's FAQ gives thirty days from the date you become liable to apply, and says no fee is charged on the common portal.
Online clients in other states are what people worry about most, and the rule is more generous than many expect. Section 24 of the Act requires registration for inter-state supply whatever the turnover, but Notification 10/2017-Integrated Tax exempts suppliers of inter-state services whose all-India turnover stays within the same limits. CBIC's flyer says the same for services sold through e-commerce operators. So a Kolkata consultant with clients in Pune is not forced to register early on that ground alone. Selling goods is treated differently, so a practice adding products should ask first.
Registering below the limit is allowed, but CBIC's FAQ says a voluntary registrant is treated as a normal taxable person from the first supply, so tax and returns begin at once. Until you hold a GSTIN, CBIC's flyer says you cannot collect tax from clients, so your invoices carry no GST line. Whether a particular service is taxable at all is a separate question, and GST for nutritionists in India takes it up, including the healthcare exemption. Add up receipts every month so you can see the limit coming.
Trade licence and shop registration, by city and state
A consultant with a rented room or clinic space should assume local rules apply until told otherwise, and those rules are set by each state and municipal body. The official pages read for this article show no single national form. The examples below show the range. Whether a room in your own home counts is a question for your local labour or municipal office, because these pages do not settle it for a consultant working alone.
| Place | What the official page says | Published fee |
|---|---|---|
| Delhi | Labour department FAQ: online registration under the Shops and Establishment Act, with the certificate available on completion | No fee |
| Maharashtra | Labour department services list: registration under the 2017 Act, with a time limit of 1 day | Not stated on that page |
| West Bengal | State summary of the 1963 Act: register within thirty days of commencement and renew every three years | Rs 25 with no employees, Rs 30 with one to five, for establishments. The summary is undated |
| Kolkata | Kolkata Municipal Corporation procedure: online Certificate of Enlistment (trade licence), with identity proof and occupancy documents | Set by the corporation's budget schedule, not stated in the procedure |
Order matters here. The Kolkata procedure treats a change of business address as a major change, which may carry fees like a new certificate, so settle the premises before you apply. West Bengal's summary also lists a trade licence copy among the shop registration papers, so in that state the municipal certificate is the one to get first. Elsewhere, ask the office which comes first rather than assuming the same sequence applies.
What does a bank need before opening a business account?
For a sole proprietor, the Reserve Bank of India's Know Your Customer direction asks banks to verify the individual and collect any two documents proving the business, and a Udyam certificate is one of them. The list, updated to 14 August 2025, also includes a municipal certificate under the shops and establishment law, a GST certificate, a complete income tax return showing the firm's income, and utility bills. On that wording, a consultant below the GST limit could offer Udyam and a utility bill in the firm's name. A bank unable to get two may accept one at its discretion after a contact point verification.
Individual banks add requirements of their own, so ask the branch for its list before you visit. Then keep consulting money in that account from the first payment. Income tax basics for a nutrition practice explains why and covers presumptive taxation and advance tax, so neither is repeated here. Which treatment is open to you depends partly on your legal form, which is one more reason to decide the form with an accountant.
Terms and invoices to have ready before the first payment
Registration papers do not settle a dispute with a client; clear terms do. Before taking money, write down what a fee covers, how many reviews it includes, what happens after a missed appointment and how a refund works. Cancellation and no-show terms walks through those decisions, and how to set consultation fees covers the price itself. Number every invoice from the first, with your name, the service, the date and the amount, and add a GSTIN only once you have one.
Client intake needs one more document, a consent form written for the data protection law, because you hold health details from the first session. After that the paperwork stops being the constraint, and finding paying clients as a nutritionist becomes the job.
Register in this order
Fix the scope and the form
Write what you will and will not advise on, then choose a sole proprietorship unless an accountant gives you a reason not to.
Take the free Udyam certificate
Use only the ministry's portal, with your own Aadhaar and PAN, and download the certificate when it is issued.
Check the local rules
Ask the labour and municipal offices what applies to your premises, including a room at home, and take what they name.
Open the account
Take the Udyam certificate and a second proof of business to the bank, and move all practice money there.
Set your terms and invoices
Have written terms, a consent form and a numbered invoice ready before the first payment arrives.
Watch the GST limit
Total your receipts monthly, and apply within thirty days of crossing the limit that applies to your state.
When should you see a chartered accountant?
See one in your first year even if nothing seems complicated, and before any step that is awkward to reverse, such as forming a company or registering voluntarily for GST. This page reports what official pages say. It cannot know your income, your mix of services or your state, and the rules behind it change by notification. A company secretary can help with ministry filings and a lawyer with contracts, but the accountant is the first call for a solo consultant.
NNWA through the same test
NNWA does not handle any of these registrations. It is a private skill academy, and its Online Nutrition Business course is a short course with NNWA's own certificate, teaching services, pricing, client flow and follow-up rather than tax law. The knowledge underneath a practice comes from a qualification such as the Diploma in Nutrition, Dietetics and Public Health, awarded with Medhavi Skills University at NCrF Level 4, which is a skill qualification and not a degree. If you are still choosing, how NNWA's Diploma compares with other diplomas sets the options side by side.
The consultant a sole proprietorship suits
It suits one person seeing individual clients, whether full time or alongside a salaried job, with receipts some way below the GST limit and no partner sharing the income. It also suits a trainer, yoga teacher or wellness coach adding nutrition coaching to existing work, because the same PAN and the same accounts can carry both. A first corporate talk does not change the form, although a company's accounts team may ask for a GST invoice, which is a question about registration rather than about structure.
People who should look elsewhere
Look past a sole proprietorship if two of you will share income and decisions: an LLP or a written partnership is the conversation to have. Look past it too if an investor or a large client insists on contracting with a company. And if your plan is to treat patients with diagnosed disease, no business registration changes what a skill qualification covers. That work needs clinical training, and whether you need a medical background for a clinical dietetics course is the place to begin.
Your next step, by situation
Still studying with no clients: register nothing yet, write your scope and finish the course, because these forms can wait until money is close. First client this month: Udyam, a bank account, written terms and numbered invoices are usually enough to begin, subject to what your local office says. Receipts climbing towards the limit: book the accountant now rather than at year end. Planning a company or a partnership: take the table above to that meeting, and let the numbers decide it.
Sources and further reading
Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises. Udyam Registration portal. States that registration is free, paperless and self-declared, that no private agency is authorised, and gives the micro, small and medium limits in force since 1 April 2025.
Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises. Udyam Registration Form. Says the Aadhaar number must be the proprietor's in a proprietorship, and asks companies and LLPs for GSTIN and PAN as well.
Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs. Central Goods and Services Tax Act 2017, section 22. Sets the Rs 20 lakh registration limit and the Rs 10 lakh limit for supplies from special category states.
Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs. Registration under GST Law. Names the states with the lower services limit, covers services sold through e-commerce operators, and says an unregistered person cannot collect tax from customers.
Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs. FAQs on GST, third edition, 15 December 2018. Gives thirty days from becoming liable to apply for registration and says no fee is charged on the common portal.
Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs. Notification No. 10/2017-Integrated Tax. Exempts suppliers of inter-state services from registration while all-India turnover stays within the Rs 20 lakh or Rs 10 lakh limit.
Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs. Frequently Asked Questions. Says a voluntary registrant below the limit is treated as a normal taxable person from the first supply.
Ministry of Corporate Affairs. One Person Company FAQs. Sets out who may be a member and nominee of an OPC, the SPICe+ route and the end of compulsory conversion.
Ministry of Corporate Affairs. FAQs on SPICe+ and linked filings, version of 22 January 2023. Gives the zero filing fee up to Rs 15 lakh of authorised capital, state stamp duty, and the PAN and TAN charges.
Ministry of Corporate Affairs. Instruction Kit for Form FiLLiP. Asks for at least two designated partners, one resident in India, and lists the contribution slabs and fees under the LLP Rules, 2009.
Ministry of Corporate Affairs. Instruction Kit for LLP Form No. 11. Requires the LLP annual return within 60 days of the close of the financial year and lists its fees and additional fees.
Ministry of Corporate Affairs. Instruction Kit for LLP Form No. 8. Sets the filing date after 30 September, the fee slabs and the turnover and contribution levels that require an auditor's certificate.
Ministry of Corporate Affairs. MGT-7A, Abridged Annual Return for OPCs and Small Companies. The ministry's filing page for the annual return that an OPC files.
Reserve Bank of India. Master Direction, Know Your Customer, updated to 14 August 2025. Part II lists the documents a bank collects as proof of business for a sole proprietary firm, including the Udyam certificate.
Labour Department, Government of NCT of Delhi. FAQ for Registration under the Shops and Establishment Act. Says no fee is payable and the certificate can be downloaded immediately after online registration.
Labour Department, Government of Maharashtra. Services. Lists registration under the Maharashtra Shops and Establishments Act, 2017, with a one-day time limit.
Government of West Bengal. The West Bengal Shops and Establishments Act: registration process. Summarises registration within thirty days of commencement, the fees by number of employees, the papers needed and renewal every three years.
Kolkata Municipal Corporation. Online Certificate of Enlistment Procedure. Describes the online application, the identity and occupancy documents, and the treatment of a change of business address as a major change.
Sources and further reading
- the guide to building a nutrition practice in India
- personal trainer certification
- what a nutrition certificate lets you do
- what indemnity cover does for a nutritionist
- GST for nutritionists in India
- Income tax basics for a nutrition practice
- Cancellation and no-show terms
- how to set consultation fees
- a consent form written for the data protection law
- finding paying clients as a nutritionist
- Online Nutrition Business course
- how NNWA's Diploma compares with other diplomas
- whether you need a medical background for a clinical dietetics course
- Udyam Registration portal
- Udyam Registration Form
- Central Goods and Services Tax Act 2017, section 22
- Registration under GST Law
- FAQs on GST, third edition, 15 December 2018
- Notification No. 10/2017-Integrated Tax
- Frequently Asked Questions
- One Person Company FAQs
- FAQs on SPICe+ and linked filings, version of 22 January 2023
- Instruction Kit for Form FiLLiP
- Instruction Kit for LLP Form No. 11
- Instruction Kit for LLP Form No. 8
- MGT-7A, Abridged Annual Return for OPCs and Small Companies
- Master Direction, Know Your Customer, updated to 14 August 2025
- FAQ for Registration under the Shops and Establishment Act
- Services
- The West Bengal Shops and Establishments Act: registration process
- Online Certificate of Enlistment Procedure