Last reviewed on 2 September 2026.
NNWA publishes the name and qualifications of everyone who writes and checks its material. You can see the full teaching team on the faculty page.
But they are not competing with an Indian skill qualification for the same job. They are built for personal trainers working with general fitness clients. They are priced in US dollars. They are taught in American food terms. And none of them makes anyone a dietitian, in India or anywhere else. This piece lays out what each one actually is, what it costs, and who it genuinely suits.
Every figure below about NASM, ISSA and Precision Nutrition was read from that provider's own website on 2 September 2026. Fees and packages change often. Check the provider's page before you pay.
What does a sports nutrition credential actually let you do in India?
A sports nutrition credential lets you coach fuelling, hydration, nutrient timing, recovery and body composition for healthy athletes and gym clients, and it gives you a structure for that work instead of guesswork. It does not let you treat disease, write therapeutic diets for patients, or call yourself a dietitian. India has no single licensing body for nutritionists, so your real scope comes from your training and from being honest about its edges. A skill qualification is not a degree, and Registered Dietitian status in India needs a BSc or MSc plus Indian Dietetic Association registration. If the difference between these titles is still fuzzy, the guide to nutrition credentials in India sets them side by side.
What NASM, ISSA and Precision Nutrition actually offer
Here is what each provider publishes about itself, since most comparisons of a sports nutrition certification in India are written from memory rather than from the source. Where a provider does not publish something, that is stated here rather than filled in.
NASM
NASM runs two credentials people mean when they say NASM sports nutrition. The Certified Nutrition Coach (CNC) is the general one. The Certified Sports Nutrition Coach (CSNC) is the performance one.
The CSNC page describes a 100 percent online, self-paced programme across 20 chapters, covering metabolism, macronutrients, hydration, nutrient timing, body composition, recovery, supplementation and coaching. There are no prerequisites. NASM states on that same page that the CSNC exam is not NCCA accredited, which is a straight admission and worth crediting them for. The credential also qualifies you to apply to the Institute of Performance Nutrition's one-year Diploma in Performance Nutrition, which is a useful onward door. Renewal comes every two years with 1.9 NASM CEUs.
On price, NASM shows payment plans rather than one plain headline number on that page. The lowest listed is $26.00 a month, marked down from $41.00, and a plan of $199 down plus 17 payments of $26.00 a month is also shown. A single pay-in-full total is not displayed in a form we could read, so we are not quoting one.
The CNC product page describes the same fully online, self-paced format, says many people finish in four to six weeks while working full time, gives five years of access, and lists no prerequisites. It shows $26.00 a month with up to 35 percent off. That page does not state whether the CNC exam is NCCA accredited, so we make no claim either way.
ISSA
The ISSA nutrition certification is called the Certified Nutrition Coach. ISSA describes about 200 hours of coursework, self-paced, with most students taking around six months and a small number finishing in as little as four weeks. Access runs for eight months from enrolment. The price is $629 as a one-time purchase, or $52 today and then $52 a month for twelve months at 0 percent interest.
ISSA does not state prerequisites on that page, and does not name an accreditation body for this particular credential, so we do not claim one. What ISSA does say plainly, on its own page, is that the certification does not make you a registered dietitian or a licensed nutritionist, and that scope of practice varies by state. That is honest and it matters. Note also that this is a general nutrition coaching credential, not a sports specific one.
Precision Nutrition Level 1
Precision Nutrition Level 1 is self-paced with no deadlines, and the page says most students put in three to five hours a week. You get lifetime access to the materials. The price is $599 USD as a single payment, or $59 USD a month for twelve months. There are no prerequisites, and PN says 42 percent of its students arrived with no health or fitness background at all.
PN L1 is approved for continuing education by twelve organisations, including ACE, ACSM, CDR, NASM, NSCA and NBHWC, which is the widest CEU list of the three. It is also, by design, a behaviour change coaching course more than a performance nutrition course. If your interest is fuelling athletes specifically, that is worth knowing before you buy.
Are these American certifications recognised by Indian employers?
Recognition here is a matter of reputation, not regulation, because India does not maintain a register that these credentials could sit on. A good Indian gym chain or a private studio will know the NASM name and will treat it as a positive signal, and the same is true of Precision Nutrition inside the online coaching world. What none of them carries in India is a national skill framework level, which is the thing an Indian employer, a hospital HR desk or a government scheme asks for when it wants a level rather than a brand. So an American certification helps you look credible to fitness clients and can hurt you nowhere, but it will not tick a box that an Indian skill qualification ticks.
The research route, and the academic one
There is a fourth category people forget. The International Society of Sports Nutrition awards the CISSN, and it sits closer to the research world than to the coaching world. It is the credential that carries weight with people who read the journals. We tried to read the society's own eligibility and fee pages on 2 September 2026 and their server would not serve them to us, so we are not going to quote an entry requirement or a fee here. Check sportsnutritionsociety.org directly if that route interests you.
The academic route is the other serious one. Roles with professional teams, national federations and institutes of sport in India are usually filled from BSc and MSc backgrounds, often with clinical experience layered on top. If that is your target, no online certificate from any provider replaces the degree. Plan for the degree and treat certifications as additions to it.
Why does the dollar price matter more than it first looks?
None of these three fees is outrageous by American standards. All three are significant by Indian ones, and the rupee number moves with the exchange rate, so what you pay is not fixed. Indian cards usually add a foreign currency markup on top. Then there is the part nobody mentions in the sales page: you are paying in a hard currency to serve clients who pay you in rupees. Whether that maths works depends entirely on what you charge. Our piece on what sports nutritionists earn in India is a more useful place to start that sum than any brochure.
Food culture is the argument that does not go away
Take the science out of these programmes and it travels fine. Protein is protein in Pune and in Phoenix. Take the food out and nothing travels. An American performance nutrition course teaches you to build a plate from chicken breast, oats, Greek yoghurt and a protein bar. Your client is a 19 year old cricketer in a hostel mess eating dal, roti, sabzi and curd, twice a day, at fixed times he does not control. Your other client is a vegetarian powerlifter whose entire protein intake has to come from paneer, dals, soya and dairy. Your third one fasts during Navratri, or Ramzan, in the middle of a training block.
No American course will teach you how to fuel those athletes, because it was never written for them. You end up doing the translation yourself, badly, for the first two years. That is the real cost of an imported sports nutritionist course, and it does not show up in the price.
Which sports nutrition certification in India is right for you?
If you already work in the international fitness industry, coach online clients abroad, or want a brand name that a gym in Dubai or Singapore will recognise instantly, one of the American programmes is a sound buy, and Precision Nutrition Level 1 has the broadest CEU acceptance of the three. If you specifically want performance nutrition rather than general coaching, NASM's CSNC is the one of the three actually built for that. If you coach Indian athletes and Indian gym clients, want the teaching in Hindi as well as English, want a skill framework level attached, and want to pay in rupees, an Indian route fits better. And if you want to work in a hospital, with patients, or under the title of dietitian, none of these is your path and a degree is.
Where NNWA fits, stated plainly
NNWA offers a sports nutrition certification in India, and it is the Indian route rather than a competitor to NASM. The Advanced Diploma in Personal Training with Sports Nutrition combines training and fuelling in one programme, which suits a coach who is already on the gym floor. The shorter sports nutrition specialisation is the option if you only want the nutrition half, and the fitness nutrition specialist course sits next to it for general gym clients. The flagship six-month Diploma in Nutrition, Dietetics & Public Health is 29,999 rupees, with EMI available from 4,999 rupees a month.
The awarding body is Medhavi Skills University, Sikkim, and the skill certification is NCrF Level 4. Classes run in English and Hindi. That combination is what an American programme cannot offer, and it is the honest reason to choose it. It is not a claim to be better.
How long does a sports nutrition course in India take?
It depends on how much you want it to carry. A focused sports nutrition course India side is often a matter of weeks, and the American self-paced options say much the same: NASM says many CNC students finish in four to six weeks, and ISSA says most of its students take about six months. A full diploma is a different commitment, six months at NNWA, and it covers far more ground than a single specialisation. The honest answer is that finishing the course is the quick part. Getting comfortable enough to charge for the advice takes a year of real clients on top, whichever provider's name is on your certificate.
Do you need a degree to work as a sports nutritionist in India?
Not to work as a sports nutrition coach with gym clients and amateur athletes, which is what most people in this field actually do, and where a skill qualification or a certification is enough to start. You do need a degree to work as a dietitian, to work in a hospital, and realistically to be considered for roles with professional teams and national institutes. The two paths are different jobs with different ceilings, and a lot of confusion comes from calling both of them "sports nutritionist". Our walkthrough of how to become a sports nutritionist in India maps both routes step by step, and if you are already a trainer, the page on nutrition courses for fitness trainers is the closer fit.
Before you pay anyone
Before you pay any provider, in India or abroad, open their own website and read their own page for the fee, the access period and the renewal rule. All four things change, all four are easy to find, and every number in this article was taken that way on 2 September 2026 so you can check our work.
Sources and further reading
- guide to nutrition credentials in India
- what sports nutritionists earn in India
- Advanced Diploma in Personal Training with Sports Nutrition
- sports nutrition specialisation
- fitness nutrition specialist course
- six-month Diploma in Nutrition, Dietetics & Public Health
- how to become a sports nutritionist in India
- nutrition courses for fitness trainers