Last reviewed on 1 November 2026.
NNWA publishes the name and qualifications of everyone who writes and checks its material. You can see the full teaching team on the faculty page.

Each route has its own order of paperwork and payment, and that order decides what you lose if you change your mind. The general method for online providers is in how to enrol in an online nutrition course, the kinds of diploma are set out in the guide to diplomas in nutrition and dietetics, and entry by school stream is in nutrition courses after 12th. This page deals only with the application itself, using named examples read on their own pages on 1 November 2026.
The application routes side by side
These are examples, not a ranking, and every row belongs to the institution named in it. A rule at one university is not a national rule, and fees change from session to session. Where a page gives no figure or no list, the table says so, because a gap on a public page is simply a question to put to admissions before you pay anything.
| Diploma and length | Entry stated | What you send | What you pay, and when |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jamia Hamdard, Moradabad centre (HVKC): Diploma in Food, Nutrition and Dietetics, 1 year | 12th passed | Form with self-attested 10th and 12th marksheets (or admit card) and Aadhaar card | Rs 100 with the form, then the admission fee after an Application ID is issued. The course page says Rs 25,000, the How to Apply page Rs 20,000 |
| New Delhi YMCA: nutrition and health management diploma, 1 year | 10+2 | Attested Class 10 and Class 12 certificates and marksheets | For 2026-27: Rs 41,595 at admission, Rs 27,025 within 4 months, plus Rs 680 registration and a Rs 1,000 refundable library deposit |
| IGNOU: Diploma in Nutrition and Health Education (DNHE), 12 to 36 months | 10+2 or its equivalent | Online form with scans. IGNOU's online-programme portal caps photo and signature at 100 KB each, other documents at 200 KB each | Rs 4,000 programme fee, Rs 300 registration and Rs 400 development fee at admission. Examination fees come later |
| AAFT Online: Diploma in Applied Nutrition, 1 year | Not stated. The page calls admission merit-based | Not listed. Apply Now button or a call with an advisor | The page mentions flexible payment options for selected candidates. Ask for the total |
| NFNA: Diploma in Applied Nutrition, Food Science and Dietetics, 6 months | Not stated on the course page | Not listed. Enquiry form, call or email | EMI applications are completed offline with a counsellor. The refund policy says no refund after payment |
| NNWA: Diploma in Nutrition, Dietetics and Public Health, 6 months | Class 12 in any stream | No printed list. Ask the counsellor; expect a marksheet scan and photo identity | At the admission step, in full or by EMI. The course card shows current figures |
Two patterns stand out. A campus form often separates a small application fee from the course fee, so you can test the process cheaply. IGNOU and most private routes take the main payment at the moment you commit, so your checks have to come first. Note the Moradabad centre as well: its two pages list different fees, which is exactly the kind of gap to settle in writing. Comparing what each total buys is the subject of how to compare nutrition course fees.
What qualifications do you need to apply for a nutrition diploma?
A Class 12 pass is the usual bar for a diploma and a bachelor's degree for a postgraduate one, but the wording belongs to each institution. Jamia Hamdard's centre says 12th passed, New Delhi YMCA says 10+2, and IGNOU says 10+2 or its equivalent, and none of those pages names a stream. NNWA asks for Class 12 in any stream, with science preferred but not required. Private pages vary more: the AAFT and NFNA course pages read for this article state no entry rule, so ask for one in writing.
Postgraduate diplomas have rules with more parts. The Institute of Home Economics at the University of Delhi asks for a listed degree with 55 per cent overall and 50 per cent in any four listed subjects, then fills its seats on merit. SNDT Women's University asks for 45 per cent or a B grade in food and nutrition degrees, and 50 per cent or a B grade in pure science degrees, followed by an entrance test, a subject test and an interview. If you searched for a dietitian course, these are the forms you want, and the comparison of an MSc with a PG diploma helps you pick.
Which documents should you keep ready for each route?
Keep clear scans of your Class 10 and Class 12 marksheets and certificates, your Aadhaar card, a recent photograph and your signature, and you will have what the published lists ask for. Jamia Hamdard's form names the 10th marksheet, the 12th marksheet or admit card and the Aadhaar card, all as self-attested copies. New Delhi YMCA asks for attested copies of the Class 10 and Class 12 certificates and marksheets. Graduates applying to a PG diploma should add the degree certificate and every year's marks.
IGNOU cares as much about the file as about the paper. The help page on its online-programme portal limits the photograph and signature to 100 KB each in JPG, and other supporting documents to 200 KB each in JPG or PDF. That portal serves the online version of the diploma, and the distance version has a portal of its own, so read the instructions on whichever you use. Private providers publish least here: neither AAFT's nor NFNA's course page lists documents, and NNWA's public pages print no checklist either.
Can you apply before your Class 12 result arrives?
Sometimes, but the admission stays open until you prove the pass. Jamia Hamdard's form lets a candidate write result awaited in the percentage column and accepts an admit card in place of the marksheet at the application stage. New Delhi YMCA's page says admission is finalised only once the Class 12 marksheet and certificate are submitted. IGNOU's July 2026 prospectus warns that not submitting the required documents may lead to rejection or cancellation without further notice, so wait for your result there. Ask any private provider before paying, not after.
When do you apply, and when does the money leave your account?
It depends on the route, and only IGNOU runs fixed cycles. IGNOU lists its diploma for January and July sessions. When read on 1 November 2026, its distance-learning portal still carried the July 2026 cycle and said registration for that session was over, with no January 2027 dates on the page, so watch for the notice. Its prospectus adds Rs 300 registration, marked non-refundable, and Rs 400 development fee to the Rs 4,000 programme fee at admission. The cycle's history is in IGNOU's nutrition admissions for 2027.
Campus and private dates are looser. The How to Apply page of Jamia Hamdard's Moradabad centre says admissions are open now and gives no closing date, and it confirms admission only after document verification and fee payment. AAFT's page listed an application deadline of 30 October 2026 and a batch starting on 14 November 2026, so that deadline had already passed when read. A private deadline usually points to one batch, so ask when the next one begins before treating a date as your last chance.
Refund terms deserve the same attention as dates. IGNOU's online-programme help page describes a limited provision for cancellation and refund, and says a fee paid by someone later denied admission is returned after any processing fee. NFNA's refund policy says it offers no refunds after payment. New Delhi YMCA splits its fee across two instalments, so ask what happens to the second if you leave. If you are weighing instalments anyway, EMI against paying in full sets out the questions.
Common reasons an application fails
None of these institutions publishes figures on rejected forms, so this list comes from their written rules and not from any count. The first group is mechanical. Jamia Hamdard's form will not be accepted without the application fee, and it asks for a separate form for each course. IGNOU's prospectus says incomplete or incorrect information, or a fee not paid on time, may bring rejection or cancellation. Its online-programme help page says applicants are told of any deficiency, so use an email address you actually read.
The second group is about eligibility. A strong overall score can still miss the University of Delhi institute's rule of 50 per cent in any four listed subjects, so check your marks subject by subject before writing the form. Applying through the wrong door is another trap, because IGNOU's distance and online versions of this diploma sit on separate portals. The last failure is the most serious: IGNOU's prospectus says that where a document proves false or forged, admission is cancelled and fees are not refunded.
Apply in this order, starting today
Write down your highest pass
Note your subjects and percentages. Class 12 opens the diplomas; a degree adds the PG forms.
Pick two routes and read this year's page
Open each institution's own course page and How to Apply page, not a summary elsewhere.
Scan everything once, properly
Scan from originals, then keep one folder with versions small enough for a portal's file limits.
Write to admissions
Ask by email for the entry rule, the document list, the total fee and the refund terms.
Submit, and pay only the stage now due
Pay through the institution's own route and keep the receipt in the organisation's name.
Diarise what comes next
Enter verification, any second instalment and examination fees, with the date each falls due.
NNWA through the same test
NNWA's admissions page lists four steps: fill in the enquiry form, speak to a counsellor, complete admission with payment in one go or by EMI, then start learning. There is no entrance test, cut-off or interview, and its Diploma in Nutrition, Dietetics and Public Health asks for Class 12 in any stream. Its public pages print no document checklist, which is a gap by the test used above, so ask the counsellor which scans you need before the payment step.
NNWA is a private skill academy whose live online classes run in English and Hindi. The Diploma is a 600-hour qualification at NCrF and NSQF Level 4, awarded with Medhavi Skills University, Sikkim, and it is not a degree. It gives no RD eligibility, IDA registration, hospital dietitian post or right to treat disease. An open door also means no one screens the fit for you, so that check falls to you. Graduates apply the same way to the Post Graduation Diploma, which is not a university PG diploma in dietetics.
The applicant each route suits
A campus diploma suits a Class 12 leaver who can reach the institute every week and wants training inside the course: Jamia Hamdard's centre, for one, lists a compulsory 3-month internship. IGNOU suits a self-disciplined learner watching the budget, who can wait for the next cycle and accepts that the study is largely alone. A private online diploma suits someone with a job or a household who needs a scheduled class soon and will take trouble over refund terms. If length is your real worry, read six months against one year before applying.
Routes for other goals
Look elsewhere than all of these Class 12 diplomas if your goal is a hospital dietitian post or the Registered Dietitian credential. A degree comes first, and how to become a dietitian in India gives the whole route. Look elsewhere than a private route if you need a university's name on the award and the institute's internship. Look elsewhere than IGNOU if you know you will not finish without a teacher setting a weekly pace. And if a provider will not put its total and refund terms in an email, apply somewhere else.
Your next step, by situation
If you have Class 12 and want a university's award at the lowest fee, keep your scans ready and watch IGNOU's portal for the January 2027 notice. If you can attend a campus, email the Moradabad centre or New Delhi YMCA today and ask for the current fee in writing. If you must start soon around work, shortlist two private providers, put the same questions to each, and enrol only after both have answered. If you hold a degree and want clinical work, check your marks against one university's rule first.
Do not apply anywhere yet if your Class 12 result is pending and the provider will not say what happens if it disappoints you, or if you cannot yet name the work you want to do with the diploma. No form is worth paying for before that. A week spent reading the entry rules on NNWA's eligibility page and one university's page, then writing down what each would let you do, costs nothing and may save you a fee you cannot recover.
Sources and further reading
Indira Gandhi National Open University. DNHE: Diploma in Nutrition and Health Education (ODL). Gives 10+2 entry, 12 to 36 months, Rs 4,000 for the full programme and examination fees charged separately.
Indira Gandhi National Open University. Common Prospectus, July 2026. Lists DNHE for January and July, adds the Rs 300 registration and Rs 400 development fees, and sets out when documents can bring rejection or cancellation.
Indira Gandhi National Open University. Admission Portal for ODL Programmes. When read on 1 November 2026 the portal carried the July 2026 cycle and said registration for that session was over.
Indira Gandhi National Open University, online programmes portal. Admission FAQ. States the photo, signature and document size limits, the limited provision for refund and how a deficiency is reported.
Jamia Hamdard, Hamdard Vocational Knowledge Centre. Diploma in Food Nutrition and Dietetics. Gives one year across two semesters, 12th passed, a Rs 25,000 course fee and a compulsory 3-month internship.
Jamia Hamdard, Hamdard Vocational Knowledge Centre. How To Apply. Lists the fee for this diploma as Rs 20,000 and sets out the Application ID, payment and document verification steps.
Jamia Hamdard, Hamdard Vocational Knowledge Centre. Diploma Application Form. Sets the Rs 100 application fee, the self-attested documents and the result awaited rule.
New Delhi YMCA, Institute for Career Studies. Diploma in Nutrition, Dietician and Health Management. Gives 10+2 entry, the 2026-27 instalments and the attested documents required.
Institute of Home Economics, University of Delhi. Diploma in Dietetics and Public Health Nutrition (DDPHN). Sets the qualifying degrees, the 55 and 50 per cent marks rule and merit-based selection.
SNDT Women's University. Post Graduate Diploma in Dietetics. Gives the minimum percentages by degree type and the selection steps.
AAFT Online. Online Diploma Course in Nutrition and Dietetics. States a one-year programme, merit-based admission, and the application deadline and batch date shown when read.
NFNA. Diploma in Applied Nutrition, Food Science and Dietetics. Gives the six-month length and the enquiry route, and states no entry rule in its eligibility section.
NFNA. Refund Policy. States that no refund is offered after payment towards a course fee.
Indian Dietetic Association. RD Eligibility. Sets the degree, postgraduate qualification, six-month internship and life membership conditions for the RD exam.
Sources and further reading
- how to enrol in an online nutrition course
- the guide to diplomas in nutrition and dietetics
- nutrition courses after 12th
- how to compare nutrition course fees
- the comparison of an MSc with a PG diploma
- IGNOU's nutrition admissions for 2027
- EMI against paying in full
- admissions page
- Diploma in Nutrition, Dietetics and Public Health
- six months against one year
- how to become a dietitian in India
- entry rules on NNWA's eligibility page
- DNHE: Diploma in Nutrition and Health Education (ODL)
- Common Prospectus, July 2026
- Admission Portal for ODL Programmes
- Admission FAQ
- Diploma in Food Nutrition and Dietetics
- How To Apply
- Diploma Application Form
- Diploma in Nutrition, Dietician and Health Management
- Diploma in Dietetics and Public Health Nutrition (DDPHN)
- Post Graduate Diploma in Dietetics
- Online Diploma Course in Nutrition and Dietetics
- Diploma in Applied Nutrition, Food Science and Dietetics
- Refund Policy
- RD Eligibility