Last reviewed on 8 October 2026.
NNWA publishes the name and qualifications of everyone who writes and checks its material. You can see the full teaching team on the faculty page.
DASH stands for Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension. It is an eating pattern, not a product or a short course of dieting: plenty of vegetables and fruit, whole grains, pulses, nuts and low-fat dairy, with less saturated fat, sugar and salt than most people eat. In the 1997 trial that gave it its name, adults who ate this way for eight weeks had blood pressure 5.5 mm Hg lower (systolic) and 3.0 mm Hg lower (diastolic) than those on a control diet. It is one of the entries in NNWA's handbook of diets.
What is the DASH diet?
It is a set of daily and weekly food group targets rather than a list of allowed and banned foods. The US National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute describes a plan that needs no special foods: vegetables, fruit and whole grains at most meals; fat-free or low-fat dairy, fish, poultry, beans, nuts and vegetable oils; and limits on fatty meat, full-fat dairy, coconut and palm oils, sweets and sugar-sweetened drinks. The foods are chosen to be rich in potassium, calcium, magnesium, fibre and protein, and lower in sodium.
| Food group | Servings | One serving is |
|---|---|---|
| Grains, mostly whole | 6 to 8 a day | 1 slice of bread or half a cup of cooked rice or cereal |
| Vegetables | 4 to 5 a day | 1 cup raw leafy vegetable or half a cup cooked or cut-up vegetable |
| Fruit | 4 to 5 a day | 1 medium fruit or half a cup of cut fruit |
| Low-fat or fat-free dairy | 2 to 3 a day | 1 cup of milk or curd |
| Lean meat, poultry and fish | 6 or fewer a day | 1 oz cooked meat or fish, or 1 egg |
| Nuts, seeds and legumes | 4 to 5 a week | A third of a cup of nuts or half a cup of cooked dal or beans |
| Fats and oils | 2 to 3 a day | 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil |
| Sweets and added sugar | 5 or fewer a week | 1 tablespoon of sugar or jam |
Half a cup is close to a small katori, so a small katori of cooked rice is one grain serving and a small katori of cooked sabzi is one vegetable serving. The plan lists bread and rice, not roti; counting one small phulka as about one grain serving is this page's approximation, not a figure from the trials.
What did the DASH and DASH-Sodium trials find?
The first trial, published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 1997, recruited 459 adults whose systolic pressure was under 160 mm Hg and diastolic pressure 80 to 95 mm Hg. After three weeks on a control diet they were randomly assigned for eight weeks to the control diet, a diet rich in fruit and vegetables, or a combination diet that added low-fat dairy and cut saturated and total fat. All the food was provided, and sodium intake and body weight were held constant, so the fall in pressure came from the pattern itself.
DASH-Sodium followed in 2001. Its 412 participants ate either a control diet or the DASH diet, and within each diet spent 30 days at each of three sodium levels in random order. Lowering sodium reduced blood pressure on both diets, and DASH gave a lower systolic pressure than the control diet at every sodium level. The authors concluded that cutting sodium and following DASH both lower blood pressure, with greater effects together than alone.
| Trial and group | Comparison | Result |
|---|---|---|
| DASH 1997, all 459 adults | Combination diet against control | 5.5 mm Hg lower systolic, 3.0 lower diastolic |
| DASH 1997, 133 with hypertension | Combination diet against control | 11.4 mm Hg lower systolic, 5.5 lower diastolic |
| DASH-Sodium 2001, with hypertension | DASH at low sodium against control at high sodium | 11.5 mm Hg lower systolic |
| DASH-Sodium 2001, without hypertension | DASH at low sodium against control at high sodium | 7.1 mm Hg lower systolic |
How strong is the evidence?
Strong for blood pressure over weeks to months, weaker for anything longer. A 2020 systematic review in Advances in Nutrition pooled 30 randomised controlled trials with 5,545 participants. Against a control diet, DASH lowered systolic pressure by 3.2 mm Hg and diastolic by 2.5 mm Hg, and the authors rated the quality of evidence as moderate. The effect was larger in trials where people ate more than 2,400 mg of sodium a day and in trials with a mean age under 50.
Three limits apply. The pooled effect is smaller than in the original feeding trials, because people who cook for themselves follow a pattern less exactly than people handed every meal. The two founding trials used American foods, and no large feeding trial of an Indian version was found for this entry. And the trials measured blood pressure, not heart attacks or strokes.
Salt targets: DASH, WHO and the Indian guideline
DASH sets a sodium ceiling of 2,300 mg a day, with a lower option of 1,500 mg that the plan says brings blood pressure down further. WHO recommends less than 2,000 mg of sodium a day for adults, which it equates to less than 5 g of salt, or about one teaspoon. ICMR-NIN's Dietary Guidelines for Indians give the same instruction in kitchen terms: restrict added salt to a maximum of 5 g a day. The sodium table for Indian foods shows where the rest comes from.
| Source | Sodium a day | As salt |
|---|---|---|
| WHO, adults | Less than 2,000 mg | Less than 5 g, about 1 teaspoon |
| ICMR-NIN, Dietary Guidelines for Indians | Not stated as sodium | 5 g at most |
| DASH plan, standard | 2,300 mg | About 5.75 g |
| DASH plan, lower sodium | 1,500 mg | About 3.75 g |
| What Indian adults eat on average | Not stated as sodium | 10.98 g |
The last row matters most. A systematic review of 21 Indian studies put mean salt intake at 10.98 g a day, about double the limit, with no sign of a fall over time. The gap between what Indians eat and any of these targets is far larger than the gap between the targets, so halving salt is the job.
An Indian day on the DASH plan
The day below is vegetarian, follows the plan's 2,000 kcal servings and is an illustration, not a prescription: your own energy need may differ, and the calorie calculator gives a starting figure. Servings are counted with the plan's own sizes. Salt is added once, during cooking, and nothing salted comes to the table.
| Meal | On the plate | DASH servings |
|---|---|---|
| Breakfast | 2 small katori vegetable poha with peas and a few peanuts; 1 banana | 2 grain, 1 fruit |
| Mid-morning | 1 glass unsalted chaas; 1 guava | 1 dairy, 1 fruit |
| Lunch | 2 small phulka; 1 small katori moong dal; 1 small katori lauki or bhindi sabzi; cucumber and tomato salad with lemon; 1 small katori curd | 2 grain, 1 legume, 2 vegetable, half dairy |
| Evening | 1 orange; a small handful of unsalted roasted peanuts or chana | 1 fruit, part of a nut serving |
| Dinner | 2 small katori cooked rice, brown or hand-pounded where possible; 1 small katori rajma; 1 small katori palak sabzi; onion and carrot salad; half a katori papaya | 2 grain, 1 legume, 2 vegetable, 1 fruit |
| Bedtime | 1 glass toned milk without sugar | 1 dairy |
| Whole day | 2 to 3 teaspoons of oil across all cooking; no pickle, papad or namkeen | 6 grain, 4 vegetable, 4 fruit, 2.5 dairy, 2 legume |
One difference from the American chart is deliberate. Pulses appear twice a day, not four or five times a week, because in a vegetarian Indian diet dal does the work the plan gives to lean meat and fish; ICMR-NIN's My Plate for the Day allots 85 g of pulses, 400 g of vegetables, 100 g of fruit and 300 ml of milk or curd on a 2,000 kcal day. If you eat fish, chicken or egg, a portion can replace a pulse serving.
Which Indian foods carry the potassium?
Pulses, leafy vegetables, tubers and fruit, which is why the plan leans on them. ICMR-NIN's guideline on salt makes the link directly: vegetables and fruit are good sources of potassium, which helps the body excrete sodium and maintain blood pressure. The figures below are from the Indian Food Composition Tables 2017 for raw, edible food, so a katori of cooked dal holds much less than 100 g of dry dal. The full ranking is in the potassium table.
| Food | Potassium | Sodium |
|---|---|---|
| Toor dal | 1,395 | 18 |
| Rajma, red | 1,324 | 10 |
| Moong dal | 1,268 | 10 |
| Spinach (palak) | 625 | 43 |
| Potato | 541 | 4 |
| Banana, robusta | 306 | 1 |
| Guava, white | 283 | 3 |
| Tomato, local | 204 | 10 |
| Cow's milk, whole | 115 | 25 |
The sodium column is the quiet lesson. Unprocessed rajma and other pulses, spinach and other greens and fruit hold almost no sodium; nearly all the sodium in a home meal is added by the cook or bought in a packet.
A worked example: one household's salt arithmetic
This is an illustrative case, not a real person. Take a 46-year-old bank officer in Pune whose doctor has found her blood pressure raised on two visits and asked her to change her diet while it is watched. She cooks for a family of four, and a 1 kg packet of iodised salt lasts her about 25 days.
The arithmetic she can do at the kitchen shelf
Work out salt per person
1,000 g divided by 25 days is 40 g a day for the household, or 10 g for each of four people: double the 5 g limit, before any packaged food is counted.
Set the target as a date
At 5 g each, four people use 20 g a day, so the same packet should last 50 days. She writes the opening date on it.
Remove the salt nobody tastes
She stops salting roti dough and rice, and keeps pickle and papad for one meal a week. ICMR-NIN also advises against baking soda in dal and vegetables, since it adds sodium just as salt does.
Add the DASH side
A fruit at breakfast and in the evening, a second sabzi at dinner and chaas in place of the afternoon namkeen move her towards four servings each of vegetables and fruit.
Keep the doctor in the loop
She records home readings and takes them to the follow-up visit. Whether medicine is started, continued or changed is the doctor's decision.
Why does this matter so much in India?
Because raised blood pressure is common here and salt intake is high. NFHS-5 measured blood pressure in adults aged 15 and over across the country in 2019-21: 24 per cent of men and 21 per cent of women had hypertension, defined as 140/90 mm Hg or above or taking medicine for it, and a further 49 per cent of men and 39 per cent of women were pre-hypertensive. The ICMR-INDIAB study, which sampled adults aged 20 and over, put hypertension at 35.5 per cent.
Blood pressure also travels with blood sugar and waist size; the handbook's entry on insulin and insulin resistance covers that side. For home measurement and the wider picture, see NNWA's guide to a high blood pressure diet in India.
Common myths and mistakes
The second mistake is to treat DASH as a low-salt diet and nothing more. In the 1997 trial sodium was held constant across all three diets, and blood pressure still fell on the combination diet, so the vegetables, fruit and dairy do work of their own.
Who should see a doctor first, and who DASH is not for?
Anyone with kidney disease should not start DASH without medical advice. The plan is deliberately high in potassium, and the US National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases explains that damaged kidneys can struggle to remove potassium, so that blood levels become very high and affect the heart and muscles. It advises people with chronic kidney disease to settle their potassium allowance with a dietitian or doctor and to avoid salt substitutes, which can be high in potassium.
The same caution applies if you take medicines for blood pressure, the heart or fluid retention, because some of them change how the body handles potassium and sodium: ask the prescriber before sharply raising pulses, fruit and leafy vegetables. People with diabetes should agree fruit and grain portions with their treating team, pregnant women should follow their obstetrician, and anyone whose pressure runs low should read about eating with low blood pressure before cutting salt.
DASH is a way of eating beside treatment. It does not replace a prescribed medicine, and no reading taken at home is a reason to stop or reduce one yourself. A severe headache, chest pain, breathlessness, sudden weakness or a change in vision with a high reading needs emergency care, not a diet chart.
Can DASH help with weight as well?
Not by design. In the 1997 trial body weight was held constant on purpose, so the fall in blood pressure was measured without weight loss. The plan is published at energy levels from 1,200 to 3,100 kcal, and the lower ones can serve weight loss. ICMR-NIN advises that weight should come down slowly and steadily, and that extreme approaches carry hazards. NNWA's Weight Management course teaches that planning for healthy adults.
Learning this with NNWA
NNWA is a private skill academy in Kolkata that teaches online in English and Hindi. Its courses, including the Clinical Nutrition course, teach people to coach healthy clients on patterns such as DASH and to refer medical cases to a doctor. None of them is a degree or a dietitian qualification.
Sources and further reading
The documents the figures on this page were read from.
- New England Journal of Medicine (PubMed record). A clinical trial of the effects of dietary patterns on blood pressure. DASH Collaborative Research Group. The original DASH trial of 459 adults, DOI 10.1056/NEJM199704173361601, with the blood pressure changes quoted here.
- New England Journal of Medicine (PubMed record). Effects on blood pressure of reduced dietary sodium and the Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) diet. The DASH-Sodium trial of 412 adults, DOI 10.1056/NEJM200101043440101, testing three sodium levels on two diets.
- Advances in Nutrition. Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) Diet and Blood Pressure Reduction in Adults with and without Hypertension: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials. Pools 30 randomised trials, DOI 10.1093/advances/nmaa041, and rates the certainty of the evidence.
- US National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. DASH Eating Plan. Sets out the food group targets for a 2,000 kcal day and the two sodium limits.
- US National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. Following DASH. Gives the serving sizes and the number of servings at each energy level.
- World Health Organization. Sodium reduction. States WHO's sodium recommendation for adults and its equivalent in salt.
- ICMR-National Institute of Nutrition. Dietary Guidelines for Indians (booklet of the guidelines). Guideline 11 restricts added salt to 5 g a day and names the processed foods to limit.
- ICMR-National Institute of Nutrition. My Plate for the Day. Gives the food group quantities for a 2,000 kcal Indian day.
- ICMR-National Institute of Nutrition. Indian Food Composition Tables 2017. The source of the potassium and sodium figures for Indian foods.
- Journal of Hypertension (PubMed record). Mean population salt consumption in India: a systematic review. Pools 21 Indian studies of salt intake, DOI 10.1097/HJH.0000000000001141.
- International Institute for Population Sciences and ICF. National Family Health Survey (NFHS-5), 2019-21: India. Chapter 12 reports measured blood pressure in women and men aged 15 and over.
- The Lancet Diabetes and Endocrinology (PubMed record). Metabolic non-communicable disease health report of India: the ICMR-INDIAB national cross-sectional study (ICMR-INDIAB-17). Reports the weighted prevalence of hypertension in Indian adults aged 20 and over, DOI 10.1016/S2213-8587(23)00119-5.
- US National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. Healthy Eating for Adults with Chronic Kidney Disease. Explains why potassium must be individually set in kidney disease and why salt substitutes are a risk.